December 8, 2023


Future Depends on What You Do

The Per Anger Prize 2023: She calls for justice for disappeared and murdered girls in Mexico

Malú García Andrade. Image: Nikola Anakabe

Human legal rights defender Malú García Andrade from Mexico is awarded the Per Anger Prize 2023 for her attempts to support the people of disappeared and murdered daughters. She calls for that murders of gals are investigated and individuals liable introduced to justice.

Human rights defender and law firm Malú García Andrade from Ciudad Juárez in Mexico heads a assist organisation for families trying to find justice for their disappeared and murdered daughters. For in excess of 20 decades, she has demanded that judicial authorities and lawmakers consider crimes towards gals seriously, that the murders are investigated, and that people responsible are punished.

“Families need to have to know their rights so they can need restitution, and the point out ought to provide the perpetrators to justice and cease popular impunity. Not until eventually then can ladies and gals reside with no violence and fear”, states Malú García Andrade.

In February 2001, the prizewinner’s own sister was murdered. During various a long time, her family members demanded justice and redress, but in vain. Mexico is a place steeped in patriarchal buildings and marked by corruption. On typical, ten females and girls are murdered every day. Quite a few of these are femicides – the murder of women of all ages just due to the fact they are girls.

Given that the demise of her sister, Malú García Andrade has retained the battle alive. She has represented hundreds of families towards authorities that have been unwilling or not able to bring perpetrators to justice. Nowadays, she is a single of the outstanding figures of the Mexican human legal rights motion in the function in opposition to femicide.

The prizewinner and her family have regularly been subjected to loss of life threats and attempts to eliminate or kidnap them. They now are living with bodyguards and safeguarded identities.

“Malú García Andrade wages a tireless battle for the legal rights of women and girls in Mexico. In spite of the mortal threat to herself and her household, she refuses to back down and as a substitute demands that murders fully commited against women of all ages prevent heading unpunished”, claims Petra Mårselius Director Basic of the Residing Heritage Forum and Chairperson of the For each Anger Prize jury.

The jury’s enthusiasm

“María Luisa García Andrade displays enormous braveness in her battle for all the gals who have disappeared and been murdered in Mexico. In an exceptionally violent atmosphere, she demands that the point out investigates femicides and that the responsible are sentenced. She functions tirelessly to supply assistance for influenced households, pushes for lawful reforms, and refuses to give up even following she and her household have been pressured to reside in hiding. Her perseverance and unconditional bravery is inspiring and offers hope for modify.”

About the Per Anger Prize

The prize is the Swedish Government’s worldwide prize for human legal rights and democracy. The prize was set up in 2004 in memory of the initiatives of diplomat Per Anger throughout the 2nd World War, when he saved Hungarian Jews from the Holocaust. The Residing History Discussion board has been tasked by the authorities to award the prize each year.

Nine international organisations participated in the nomination perform for this year’s Per Anger Prize: Afrikagrupperna, Amnesty Global Sweden, Civil Legal rights Defenders, Diakonia, The Kvinna until Kvinna BasisIM – Swedish Development LoverConserve the KidsWe Impact, and the Church of Sweden.

This year’s prizewinner was nominated by Amnesty Intercontinental Sweden.